Jurassic Park (1993) Review

As is often the case in my life, it’s been a rather slow and boring couple of weeks, the only ‘out of the box’ activity I have been a part of is watching a film released over 20 years ago… so as the innovator that I am, I figured I’d write a review about it!

The film in question was 65 million years in the making that ‘found a way’ to welcome us to the greatest adventure of all time. A real rip-roaring raptor of a film that’s carnivorous appetite to entertain made it a Jurassic success, and that film is… The Shawshank Redemption!

No wait that’s not right, I will in fact be reviewing the Spielberg sensation that is Jurassic Park.

Jurassic Park started off as an as egg hatchling and has subsequently turned into one of the most vicious monster franchises in film history, and this particular franchise is clawing onto life to this date with the upcoming sequel of Jurassic World (2015).

In case you’ve been under a rock (or log) for the last 22 years I’m sure you’re already aware of the plot, but for those that need a re-cap or are in the minority not to have seen it, all I’ll say is: during a preview tour at a theme park exhibiting cloned dinosaurs, a greedy git called Dennis and a tropical storm ensure all doesn’t go quite according to plan.

Spoilers will still be included so, to the three of you left in the World who haven’t seen it, you have been warned!

The late and great Richard Attenborough stars as the park inventor John Hammond and is supported by the excitable yet suddenly sceptical critics of the park in the form Of Sam Neill and Laura Dern, with assistance from the man, the myth, the legend that is The Jeff Goldblum!

Without question Jurassic Park is an absolute classic that has stood the test of time and has one of the most instantly recognisable soundtracks in film history, but for all it’s plaudits, there are drawbacks.

Following our film night last week, the film discussion very quickly turned into a continuity error count competition, questions like: ‘Where did the cliff in the T-Rex paddock come from?’, ‘How did Laura Dern get down said cliff and back up again so quickly?’ and ‘Where the F did the T-Rex come from at the end of the film!’ were just a few of my personal favourites.

Another topic of discussion, during the version of the film we saw last week, the scene featuring Samuel L Jackson’s probable demise was completely cut. So part of me likes to think there are people out there that have only seen that version and are starting conspiracy theories for his completely unexplained disappearance!

Following on from that thought process, I’d just like to state in the full version of the film, we only ever see what we assume to be Sam Jackson’s amputated arm and not the rest of him. I now envision a post credit scene with Mr. Arnold desperately chasing after the helicopter at the end, detached limb in hand being sick of mother flipping Dinosaurs on the mother flipping island.

Either that, or Mr. Arnold crawling his way back to visitors centre in desperate need of nourishment and being pounced on by a very cold and very upset Velociraptor as he opens the fridge door! (I am well aware I have given this far too much time and attention).

I don’t want to criticise too much because I do genuinely like Jurassic Park and will 9/10 times put it on if I see that it’s on the tele (I have literally nothing better to do with my time anyway!) but I do have more gripes… the major one being essentially every character irritates in one way or another! Whether that be John Hammond’s ever evolving accent or dumbass Tim lagging on the electric fence and not just crawling through the gap he can clearly fit through!

Also, Bob Peck’s character was definitely under-rated in the film and was deserving of a better death scene, something comparable to Rocky Vs Ivan Drago in Rocky 4, but with a hunter Vs Raptor vibe would have been much more appropriate.

I could ramble on for sometime so I will attempt to wrap this up as succinctly as possible.

Jurassic Park is one of Steven Spielberg’s greatest successes to date, and provided us with some of the best made and recognisable scenes in film history, if we ever see a glass of water rippling or someone hiding in a kitchen we know where those ideas came from.

Without question, the first film was the high-point of the trilogy and is the one which holds the fondest memories for the vast majority of fans.

It will certainly be interesting to see what the future holds for the now entitled ‘Jurassic World’, and I’ll certainly be watching with high hopes so see if it can live up to the original.

If it doesn’t, I can always gentle hum ‘na na na na na’ to myself and remember that Jurassic Park definitely did find a way.

Rating: 8/10

Leave a comment